Say Yes and See What Happens!

Okay for the past few months I have been saying ‘yes’. Yes, I will submit to the competition ‘To Boldly Go’. Yes, I will have a gallery space. Yes, I will do a challenge for the conference. Yes, I will try and be less of a wallflower . . . . a lurker . . . and try to stand tall on my own.

Well here’s what happened at the recent Synergy 4 conference!!

I submitted three pieces to the competition “To Boldly Go’ and won the Member’s Choice Award for Emerging Artist in wearable art jewelry with the piece I called Ancient Journey. I couldn’t believe it!!

I put my gallery space together and while during set-up I was questioning my sanity being in the room with all the big names in polymer. But I recovered my spine with encouraging words from a few of my fellow attendees (thanks Beth, DeeDee and Katy!). The gallery was great. Everyone had the same amount of space whether you were a rockstar or a newbie! The diversity in the polymer clay work was mind-blowing . . . jewelry, of course, but sculptures, paintings, and home décor. And the diversity in styles showed an even greater range of creativeness.

Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-synergy1

I took the challenge seriously and put my ‘nose to the grindstone’. I was overwhelmed by the positive reception of my new pieces and the journey I took to get there. This was one of the most unique opportunities offered at the conference. To get guidance, constructive critique and support from a mentor was invaluable! Most of the work in the above photo was a result of my efforts on the challenge. Special thank you to Christine Dumont (again)!!

Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-synergy3

The Synergy 4 conference was a huge success as far as I am concerned!  The people were open and generous, providing a great community. I left with my head full of ideas, new techniques, tips and inspiration. I took three hands-on classes that included Melanie West, Christine Dumont and Jana Roberts Benzon. All three are rockstars but all so very different! And then there were three days of sessions covering creativity, our common ground, design hierarchy, new approaches to teaching, improving your photography, combining metal and polymer to name a few!

One of the most inspiring talks was by Maggie Maggio on the ABC’s of Color. She has clearly found her passion and is thinking big . . . . I mean really BIG! Rewriting the way color is taught to kids in schools. But it was her passion that radiated from her. You couldn’t help but be moved!!

Then on the last night of the conference there was a banquet. Everyone was in a playful mood, photo bombing when they could!!

Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-synergy2

The auction that was held was so much fun with our auctioneer, Christie Friesen. And the items up for auction are a great example of the diversity at the conference.

Thank you to everyone who helped put this conference together!! It was a great experience and you deserve high praise for all your volunteered hours and efforts.

So saying yes paid off for me many times over.  If you ever have an opportunity to say yes, go ahead . . . . .  you never know what might happen!!

This entry was posted in polymer clay, Synergy4, workshops and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Say Yes and See What Happens!

  1. Elizabeth Del Monte says:

    YEAH!!!! you did it. Congrats!!! I’m very happy for you.

    See you Saturday

    Eli

    >

    Like

  2. Vicki Colburn says:

    Kudos!

    On Wed, Aug 23, 2017 at 7:02 PM The Flying Squirrel Studio wrote:

    > The Flying Squirrel Studio posted: “Okay for the past few months I have > been saying ‘yes’. Yes, I will submit to the competition ‘To Boldly Go’. > Yes, I will have a gallery space. Yes, I will do a challenge for the > conference. Yes, I will try and be less of a wallflower . . . . a lurker . > . ” >

    Like

  3. Christina says:

    I’m so proud of you, Lynn. You continue to work hard, stretch yourself, and grow in your artistic skills. Keep up the good work, BFF!

    Like

  4. Katharina says:

    Your description made me wish I had been there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

