A Surprise Package!

 

You know we all love a new tool . . . . well I received a sweet little package from a dear friend from Scotland, Melanie Muir, a polymer clay artist, teacher and creative coach extraordinaire (www.melaniemuir.com)!! She visited last February and I had a chance to see her new line of jewelry before she headed for her next show. Very graphic. Very modern. Very beautiful.

Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-muir1

She also shared that the new line of jewelry resulted in a new line of texture stamps and shape templates. Woo-hoo!!   Who doesn’t love a new tool!

A few of the things that make her stamps nice for polymer clay work is that they are clear so you can see the underlying clay and make sure the contact is good, they are deeply carved stamps (great for mokume gane) and the size is manageable for jewelry size pieces. A twist to her new line of texture stamps is that the designs include both innies and outies for the same stamp shape!

Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-muir5Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-muir4Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-muir3Yuhr-theflyingsquirrelstudio-muir2

In addition, she has developed a few new shape templates along with a new line of cutters! And yes, I have already placed my order for the cutters!!

I have been playing with the stamps and templates a little. I used them to make some samples for my mica shift class I recently taught at Fandango.

So thank you Melanie for your generous gift and making a gal do a happy dance! It has been so hard to keep this secret but I promised I wouldn’t spill the beans until they were up on her website, go check them out!!

I know a tool doesn’t make an artist . . . . . but a new tool can make an artist happy!!

This entry was posted in polymer clay tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Surprise Package!

  1. Christina says:

    I can see these stamps hold lots of possibilities. Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

