Weighing Your Options, Literally!

Ok, I know my ‘big’ sales event is only half of a table but I want to look professional. So I needed to come up with display material that would be portable, light weight and look good, right?

Easy and cheap was just using cardstock folded in half for earring cards. It is easy and certainly cheap. I used earth-tone colors that went well with the colors in my jewelry. My daughter-in-law has a Cricut (electronic cutting machine) and added a cut out of my logo to take it up a notch. Cute, right?

earring cards

 

Since the table area is so small, I thought I needed a riser for height and interest. Again, light weight, portable, hmmm. So I fashioned a ‘slip cover’ for a standard post office overnight box (12x12x6-inches). The box folds up flat in my suitcase along with the slip cover. I thought this one was pretty smart!!

portable riser

portable riser unmade

A search of Pinterest gave me lots of ideas for displays. But it needed to be simple. I mocked up what I thought I needed. I, okay, my husband found a partial sheet of a veneered plywood in the garage that was about ¼-inch thick. This served well as the upright part of the display. Then we found some wood that was leftover slats from an old bed. A little cutting, sanding, staining, and painting. Viola!!

We made two sizes, one taller (11×4-inches) and narrower, the other wider and shorter (about 8.5×7-inches). The bases were painted black and the veneered plywood was stained. Holes were drilled near the neck for earrings.

Some of the necklaces were on long chain and I need a way to display them so the focus was on the pendant. So I used Velcro with a sticky backing to hold the chain in place. You don’t see it from the front, it doesn’t hurt the chain and it can be removed easily. Again, pretty smart, right???

jewelry display velcro

I had a set of small wooden trays that looked good with the other wood displays. They would be great for bangles and cuffs. And a box I found at Target caught my eye. It provides height and holds the earring cards nicely.

wooden trays

wooden box

Since I kept all the display materials fairly uniform and neutral in color, the table covering under everything needed to pop. So, again, my daughter-in-law saved the day and suggested a bold black and white stripe fabric that I had! Hopefully it will be noticed from across the room.

booth table cloth

For my first rodeo, I think I am doing pretty well, at least I am prepared. Everything fits into my suitcase with room left for clothes and it isn’t over the weight limit. I promise to take photos of the set up and report back to you. Wish me luck!!

This entry was posted in display materials, inspiration, selling jewelry, workshops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weighing Your Options, Literally!

  1. Linda Dunlap says:

    Fabulous ideas! Very professional and attractive! PRACTICAL! Love it! Linda

    On Wed, Mar 23, 2016 at 12:53 PM, The Flying Squirrel Studio wrote:

    > The Flying Squirrel Studio posted: “Ok, I know my ‘big’ sales event is > only half of a table but I want to look professional. So I needed to come > up with display material that would be portable, light weight and look > good, right? Easy and cheap was just using cardstock folded in half for ea” >

    Like

  2. Deedee says:

    Wishing you oodles and oodles and lots of LUCK!!!! I know all the hard work, thought and creativity you have put into your collection has already paid off. You really don’t need luck!!!

    Like

  3. Zeli says:

    I love it! And you are going to do great. Good luck!!!

    Like

  4. OMG…very smart. Wish you the best of lucks and please report later….

    Like

Leave a Reply

