The Flying Squirrel Goes Tribal

So Artfest is quickly approaching and the excitement is ramping up! As part of the Artfest event there is a vendor night. This is limited to attendees of the retreat. It is a short in duration, only an hour and you can commit to a full or half of a table. I thought about it and realized, that this would push me way out of my comfort zone, so, of course, I was in! Okay, partially in, I only signed up for half of a table.

I had been playing around with some jewelry designs in polymer clay using a limited color palette that was inspired by graphic mudcloth designs. Typically simple, bold graphics that I seem to gravitate towards. So I embraced the direction and got to work.

I decided that I wanted to create a collection of jewelry. My goal was to have a cohesive grouping of pieces that were technically solid, well designed and looked professional. If you are going to aim, aim high, right?? I didn’t want to look like a garage sale with a little of this and a little of that. I wanted to make my 6-square feet of table to count!!

I focused on my techniques and finishing. I made bangles, cuffs, earrings, necklaces and pendants. These pieces could be put together as sets or used individually.

The reality is that this is an opportunity to put my work out there. Sure, it’s a single venue, a limited time window and a small part of a table. And it was a lot of work. But creating inside the bubble of your studio without a plan to emerge seems . . . . well pointless. So its time to step out and get some feedback. Who knows where I will go from here!

By the way, I have added the complete tribal collection under the Polymer Clay Jewelry tab above. Check it out and let me know what you think!

 

This entry was posted in inspiration, jewelry, polymer clay. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Flying Squirrel Goes Tribal

  1. Aida says:

    Looking good! Good luck with the show.

    Like

  2. KatharinaK says:

    Absolutely fabulous! Professional body of work! Great photographs! Great displays! Creative! Does not get any better than this!

    Like

  3. Raquel Fraga says:

    I was fortunate enough to see this collection in person and it is so much more in real life. The Artfest attendees are in for a real treat.

    Like

  4. Kate says:

    Lynn these look amazing but why I am I surprised when I have seen a lot of the jewellery you have created over the years you have been beading. Sending loads of luck for the show, it will be great Love English xx

    Like

  5. Allison says:

    They DO look very professional! I hope the Artfest goes well for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

